Goodwin Box Break: The Hits

I went up to the local card shop today, and I am glad I did.  First, a little story.   My shop is upstairs in a building on the main drag.  As I was walking upstairs, I could tell there were more people there than usual (I always go early on a Saturday morning, so this is kind of unusual).  As I walked in the door, I said ‘Hello’ to the owner, he smiled, and then he ‘Shushed’ me, with that universal finger over the lips gesture.  I was confused, because I was going to ask about the Goodwin he said he would have this week.   Then he took a few steps over, pointed at the floor behind the counter and mouthed ‘I have a box for you.’

It was as close as I am going to get to being in a spy movie.  Turns out, his order for Goodwin got cut, and he only got two boxes.  He had already sold one, and someone had been asking about it, but he had already set it aside for me.  Yay me!  Anyways – this is one of the reasons it makes sense to support your local shop.  Also, the fact that I grabbed a bunch of cardboard boxes and penny sleeves without the exorbitant shipping costs I would incur buying online.

Bottom line:  My shop owner is cool.

Anyways – onto the box of Goodwin.  One of the reasons all the subterfuge was worth it?  the box was freakin’ awesome!

I will post lists of base, SPs and minis that are for trade shortly, but here are the hits.

Game Used Jerseys

Two Red Sox, which kind of sucks, but the player selection could have been much, much worse.

Entomology Redemption:

I was psyched.  Then I read this card, and it turns out these can’t be sent to Canada.  I guess it makes sense, because it is basically an animal carcass.  Hopefully I can flip this into something cool for my collection.  I’d love to get one of the Omaha Beach Sand cards, or maybe a sweet Hamilton.

Why wasn’t the anxiously anticipated Bug Card the highlight of the break?  Because this little guffer popped out next!

There’s the hits.  Like I said, I will post the smaller cards later this weekend, but I was really excited about how this break turned out, and wanted to share.

3 Responses to Goodwin Box Break: The Hits

  1. beardy says:

    Did you know that I want one of those Entomology cards more than almost anything in this entire world? Perhaps we can swing a deal?

  2. That Bailey is awesome. Cool to see that my fellow Canadians are getting some good Canadian content.

  3. night owl says:

    Wow, that’s quite the box. Best one I’ve seen so far.

Leave a Reply

