Question about 2009 Topps Target Retros

Are the Target Retro variations substantially more difficult to track down than the Wal-Mart black versions?  Or were these blasters  just not broken as heavily because they hit the shelves later?  I’ve been having a hard time tracking down all three Target variations that Hamilton had in Series 1, but had relatively little trouble finding the Wal-Mart blacks.

Is this just a perception thing for me, or are any other player / team collectors having a tough time with the Target variations?

5 Responses to Question about 2009 Topps Target Retros

  1. night owl says:

    Where I am, the retro versions are more plentiful than the black versions, only because Target (retro versions) keeps its card aisle better stocked than Wal-Mart (black versions).

    If I had to guess, I’d say that you’re finding retro versions more difficult because the black versions were out earlier. But they’ve both been pretty available for awhile now, so I don’t think that’s it.

  2. handcollated says:

    I’m in agreement with the Night Owl on this one, but I also think that more folks were interested in the WalMart darks then in the Target retros. I know I bought too many dark blasters and only one retro blaster because the design was so similar to regular Topps.

  3. as someone who had to rely on 2nd and 3rd hand sales, as Walmart does not sell cards here, and Target is a pipedream, I found trade partners quite easily for the black versions. (I may even have a Hamilton, I’ll see if I can find them)
    As far as the retro versions though, I have one. That’s it. One.
    my 2 cents

  4. gobigpelf34 says:

    Im having alot of trouble finding the Mike Pelfrey one. If anybody here has it ill trade!

  5. So, it doesn’t seem to be an issue of print run, more a case of perceived scarcity. I have tracked down all three wal-Mart Black versions, but none of the Targets.

Leave a Reply

