2009 Upper Deck Rivals

I am on a bit of a streak with 2009 Upper Deck.  Well, if two posts can be considered a streak, I am.  And its going to end tomorrow also.  So, its not really a streak at all.  Maybe a mini-jag.

Today’s card is a 2009 Upper Deck Rivals insert featuring Josh Hamilton and Roy Oswalt.  I suppose they are rivals based solely on geography, but really rivalries should build out of the game.  According to the back of the card, Hamilton has all of 9 ABs against Oswalt (he’s 2-9), and most of those probably came before he even joined the Rangers.  If I had my druthers, I would have put Hamilton on this card with Morneau, and mention their duel in the HR Derby.  As is so often the case, however – no one asked me.

This card was added to my collection courtesy of Sooz over at A Cardboard Problem.  This was a surprise package that knocked off several cards that I hadn’t even had a chance to add to my wantlist yet.

Leave a Reply

