I Am Second

As anyone who reads this blog regularly can tell you – I sometimes spend some time browsing through Flickr for cool pictures.  I look at all kinds of pictures, but I only really talk about the Hamilton ones here.  Today, I found another good one, and it led me in a few different directions.

Check out I Am Second on Flickr.  Its kind of a hazy shot of a billboard with a stark black and white photo of Hamilton and a simple “I Am Second” written on the other half of the sign.  A quick google search pointed me in the direction of I Am Second.  Its kind of a neat site.  Here’s the link to their “What is I Am Second?” page.  It takes a few paragraphs to get to the nuts and bolts of the organization.  “I Am Second is designed to help people discover their purpose in life.” My obvious question was “Who is first?”  This isn’t going to degenerate into an Abbot & Costello routine.  There is a section on the site that answers the question – Jesus.

The site is very video heavy, but if you have a slower connection, or don’t have video access at work or whereever you happen to be, there is a lot of text based content as well.  Josh Hamilton’s page on I Am Second can be found here.  If you have been following the story, there isn’t a lot of new material, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen him talk about himself for so long in one fell swoop.  He talks about drugs and alcohol replacing the adrenaline rush he got from playing ball.  He talks about his tattoos, and the people who introduced him to his new lifestyle.  He also repeats what he has said before – everything that happened was his own doing.  He makes no attempt to shift blame or shirk responsibility.   Its definitely worth watching.  As a cautionary tale, and as an inspirational one as well.

There are many other recognizable names on the I Am Second website.  Legendary NFL coach Joe Gibbs, actor Stephen Baldwin, and Dallas Cowboys linebacker Greg Ellis are a few of the others.

2 Responses to I Am Second

  1. Chuck says:

    Did you know that the phrase is based on the biography of Chicago Bears’ Hall of Famer Gale Sayers ?

    His book – “I am Third” follows the God -Family – Self credo.

    cheers

    Visit my blog – sign up.

Leave a Reply

