Alex Rodriguez & Dan Bern

So, A-Rod tested positive for steroids. Personally, I think he should be flipping out on all parties involved with the release of a supposedly anonymous test result.  I have been exposed to the health care field through work recently, and have a pretty good grasp of records management, and this whole situation is pathetic.  He shouldn’t have cheated, but two wrongs don’t make a right.

I have a lot more to say, but it makes me get all ranty, and most of it would probably be gibberish.  Instead, I’m going to share with everyone why thinking about A-Rod makes me laugh.  I’m not sure how many of you have heard the musical stylings of Dan Bern.  Specifically, the number he calls “Tiger Woods.”  If you have – sit tight.  If you haven’t – check out the lyrics here and a YouTube clip here.  This was a really popular song when I was living in residence as an undergrad.  Its horribly immature, and horribly funny.   Probably not something you want to listen to with kids in the room, though.

What does this have to do with A-Rod?  Well, after the whole thing with Madonna and A-Rod this summer, all I could think was “too young, too young, too soon, too soon.”  This recent news just makes me think of the remainder of that verse “‘Cause life is **** from here on in.” Unfortunately, I think A-Rod was only 32 or 33 this summer, rather than 34 as the erstwhile friend in the song.

So, there you have it.  If you ever bring up A-Rod in conversation with me, rest assured that the little smile on my face means that the lyrics “too young, too young, too soon, too soon” are running through my head.

2 Responses to Alex Rodriguez & Dan Bern

  1. nmboxer says:

    The great irony of steroids “abuse” is that MLB says to the players: ‘you’ll get eleventy million *more* dollars if you hit a lot or pitch better!’ and then act all shocked when players do bad things to attain that extra eleventy million. There’s no moral center to the whole escapade. I never thought I’d ever say this, but between the abuse he got for seeing Madonna (and the media abuse she took, for that matter) and now this, I actually feel for the guy. Maybe I’d sing “too public, too public,” because I simply don’t want to know.

  2. deal says:

    Pure Brilliance!! I wish I had thought of that. I only heard “Tiger Woods” a series of times prior to seeing Dan Bern in concert about 2 or 3 years ago and had totally forgotten about the song until you mentioned it.

    as a sidenote, I work in healthcare, and you’re aboslutely right the whole issue of annonymity/privacy here has been very much sidestepped.

Leave a Reply

