2008 By The Numbers: Josh Hamilton Cards

I’ve been not so patiently waiting for Beckett to get the the 2008 Upper Deck Ultimate Collection Checklist uploaded into their database, so I could do a study of what 2008 was like for Josh Hamilton cards.  Its up today , so here goes.  Of all the big changes at Beckett with their website – the new search and database feature is top notch.  No more guessing whether a card is autographed, or trying to puzzle out what team a player is pictured with.  A database like this is a very powerful tool indeed.  Even moreso if you are a geek like myself.

531:  Total Josh Hamilton cards issued in 2008 baseball products.  (Ummm, wow – that’s a lot of cards.  He gets a definite boost in this category with his inclusion in Moments & Milestones as well as Documentary.)

138: One of Ones (OK, that’s just ridiculous.)

59: Pack issued, certified autographs (This number isn’t obscene compared to the others, but that’s still a ton of autographs.)

35: Game used memorabilia cards. (This is a number I can live with – a bit more than one GU card per product release.  Its overkill, but it could be worse.)

387: Serial numbered cards.  (Almost 73 % of Josh Hamilton cards issued this year have been serial numbered.  Lots of these are from M&M – but still.)

70: Cards with a print run that Beckett describes as “Very Short” also known as ‘between 2 and 10.  (I don’t have very many of these.  Some blue parallels from M&M, but I think that’s it).

72: Cards with a print run that Beckett describes as “Short” (11-25).  (If I ever get really bored, I am going to go through and compare the lists from various print runs to see if they are just a bunch of different parallels.  Again – 45 or so Black parallels from M&M really cranks this number up.)

17: Cards with a print run that Beckett describes as “Mid Run” (26-50).  (How did this happen?  Oh right – the drive by manufacturers to create artificial scarcity.  Of course.  Why have one card /50, when we can change the colour and make 2 cards /25).

21: Cards with a print run that Beckett describes as “Large” (51-100).  (I didn’t set out to depress myself when I decided to break down these numbers, but that is basically what is happening.)

58: Cards with a print run that Beckett describes as “Very Large” (101-250).  (Hey!  Finally a number that went up significantly from the last category, whilst going down in terms of scarcity.  Of course – mainly attributable to the M&M base versions being /150).

18: Cards with a print run that Beckett describes as “Huge” (250+).  (I like this category.)

113: Base Cards.  (Again, hugely swollen by his inclusion in M&M and Documentary).

312: Parallels.  (Ouch.)

346: Topps Cards.

185: Upper Deck Cards.  (That’s a huge difference.  Almost all of which is made up from M&M.)

There has been a lot of ‘year in review’ style posts, articles and stories on Josh Hamilton’s 2008 season on the diamond.  I am thinking this is likely to be the only look back at his 2008 year on cardboard.  My main concern is that Hamilton didn’t really ‘blow up’ until the All-Star Break this year, and he still appeared on over 500 different cards.  Next year, I can assume it is only going to get better (worse?).  Even if the overall number goes down with the exclusion of Topps M&M from the product list, I would expect the autographed and game used numbers to increase significantly.

6 Responses to 2008 By The Numbers: Josh Hamilton Cards

  1. Marie says:

    I don’t know how you can look at that and not get discouraged immediately. I cringed when I saw how many cards Albert Pujols has. There are a ton of printing plates, and other 1/1’s, but it makes me ill to think about. I’m slowly working my way, and currently trying for all earlier cards since they are only going to go up in price.

    I never used their database to come up with these stats, but I honestly might try it. I’m a nerd sometimes, too.

  2. The one thing that keeps it from being too discouraging is the fact that I am not even close, nor am I likely to ever be close. I have a bunch of cards I like, and a bunch of cards to chase, but its not like I just need 5 more or something that might seem attainable.

    That’s what I keep telling myself, anyways.

  3. Grand Cards says:

    Oh man, do I feel your pain. I’m in the middle of doing a comprehensive review of Curtis Granderson’s 2008 releases, and it is just ridiculous. I have found that focusing on completing a specific set (e.g. all of Topps’ base, inserts, gold and gold foil) is a challenging, yet attainable goal. It is a long road to a full collection, no doubt, but don’t let it get you down. The silver lining is that there are so many cards that you can essentially focus entirely on cards that you like and still build a terrific collection!

  4. Grand Cards – I definitely agree. I’ve started breaking things down into mini-projects. I just finished off picking up all of the Hamilton cards out of UD X, for example. I’m also slowly polishing off the Moments & Milestones cards from this year.

    With so much to choose from, it has eliminated me having to pick up cards I don’t really like just to fill up a spot in a binder page.

    I just added your blog to my links as well, and I am catching up on my reading now as well.

  5. […] 2008 By The Numbers: Josh Hamilton Cards « The Hamiltonian (thehamiltonian.wordpress.com) – January 08, 2009I’ve been not so patiently waiting for Beckett to get the the 2008 Upper Deck Ultimate Collection Checklist uploaded into their database, so I could do a study of what 2008 was like for Josh Hamilton… […]

  6. Jeremy says:

    Well, good luck with all that.

Leave a Reply

