With today’s mail, I can finally say…

…that I am done with 2008 Upper Deck X Baseball.  Its not a particularly fulfilling task, but it is done.

This is the Gold Die-Cut.  As far as the rest of the cards, there was a base, a base die-cut, an XPonential insert and a jersey card.  This card has been sitting on Sportlots for quite some time, I was just waiting until I had some free Paypal to pick it up.  The trickiest one to find for me was the jersey card, as apparently it is Retail only (same thing with the jerseys in UD Timelines, apparently).  In the latest of a long line of UD Quality Control issues – I had to punch out the ‘hanging chads’ at the top and bottom to make this card look like an ‘X’.  Relatively minor, but still annoying.

5 Responses to With today’s mail, I can finally say…

  1. Spiff says:

    Congrats. A run is a run, regardless of the set. As a side note, I received an autographed copy of Josh’s book for Christmas and am looking forward to reading it.

  2. night owl says:

    What if it turns out that by punching out the hanging chads you devalue the card? (Like cutting up an uncut sheet, or cutting up those old Hostess Twinkie strip cards). I’m kind of joking, but wouldn’t it be odd if that’s how it turned out?

  3. Its a possibility that I am devaluing the card, but since I paid $2 for it, it doesn’t have too far to drop. I would have to think about it a little more if I paid more, but this is just a small step up from a base card, so I didn’t worry about it too much.

  4. Dave says:

    What was the verdict on all those mid-90’s cards that came with a protective plastic film? I ripped all mine off years ago.

  5. I always ripped them off as well. I think the general consensus was that if you planned on keeping it, you should do whatever you wanted with them. And if you bought with the intention of reselling or whatever, you should leave them on.

    I have the patience of a two year old, so I usually ripped everything. The only thing I don’t usually remove are ‘sealed’ cards – like Uncirculated or some of ITG’s recent releases.

Leave a Reply

