Josh Hamilton Signs My Card!

Waaaay back in spring training, I packaged up a TTM request to Hamilton through the Rangers ST addy, and then began to wait.  After things blew up at the All-Star break, I was pretty sure I wouldn’t be seeing this request again – he had just gotten too big.

Then, on a bunch of autographing sites, I started seeing Hamilton requests trickling back.  A couple here, a couple there.  One over at Bad Wax as well….  So, I started getting my hopes back up.  And in today’s mail, there was an SASE with an older style of stamps than I am currently using.  And the part of the postmark that I could make out said ‘Research Triangle’.  I was looking at going to grad school at NC State – I know where Research Triangle is.  And my hopes got even further up (while at the same time I was wondering if I had sent anything to any of the Hurricanes).  Today was the day, though.  Inside my envelope was this:

I sent him two copies of this card, and offered him one if he liked it.  That makes this request doubly awesome for me.  1)  I got my card signed and returned to me and 2)  Apparently Hamilton liked the card I made enough to keep it.  I have other pack certified Hamilton autographs, as well as a signed copy of his book, but this one is different.  its kind of like he signed it especially for me.

9 Responses to Josh Hamilton Signs My Card!

  1. Spiff says:

    Very cool. Josh was a great signer when I saw him at a late season Royals game. He signed for me and my four year old son. Nice card design, awesome signature, great player.

  2. JT says:

    Quite the awesome mailday for both of us. 🙂

  3. Its fun to have a long lost request out there, and then to see responses start to trickle in….

    It just ups the ante as far as anticipation goes!

  4. […] not the only one with a recent Hamilton success, either. The Hamiltonian got a custom card signed, and Bad Wax scored […]

  5. bapple2286 says:

    Congrats!! I have seen Hamilton’s autograph returns sky rocket in the last 4-6 weeks. He must be catching up on his mail. Anyone who sends to him this year is surely going to have to wait longer than you did. Good job!!

  6. Dave says:

    Dang, that is cool!! Very legitimate looking card and perfect for autographing with the way you de-contrasted the background. It looks so beautiful with the signature, and it’s very flattering that he kept the double you sent him!

    Just curious, what did you print this on? I’ve been toying with the idea of printing out custom cards but wasn’t sure where to start as far as high quality prints. Whatever you did was awesome — looks unreal.

    -Dave

    • I have done a couple of different things, as far as printing goes. Some I print at home, on the highest quality photo paper I can find. They come out a little thinner than normal caards, but they look good.

      Some I get printed out by whatever photofinishing place is having the best sale. I put 2 cards onto a 4×6, and then cut them out.

  7. Paul says:

    That is a great-looking card!

  8. Mark says:

    That is a pretty fantastic story. Congrats.

Leave a Reply

