2000 Topps Tek Colour…errr…Color

A while back, I got really ambitious and scanned in all my 2000 Topps Tek Variations. I also took the time to lament that I had never even seen a ‘Color’ version of Hamilton. Well, the eBay gods must have heard me, because one popped up within a week or so of my post. It was listed with a BIN of $15.00 and he was accepting offers. I think I initially offered $6.00 + shipping, and was countered at $12.00. I passed. As much as I wanted one – I also knew the market for Hamilton’s inserts and semi-rare parallels where he is pictured in a Devil Rays uniform is quite soft. His autographs sell well out of any product, and his newer stuff starts off red hot, but 2000 – 2003 stuff is rather stagnant. I am getting to it as quickly as my Paypal account allows, though.

As I expected (and hoped), no one bit @ $15.00, nor was an offer accepted. Shortly thereafter, it popped up at open auction – starting bid $0.99 (my favorite kind). I set my snipe, and waited impatiently for 6 days. Turns out, I won the auction for $2.25 – $5.25 shipped to Canada. 🙂 Here’s what all the fuss was about:

Sharp looking card. This one is numbered 38-20. I believe there are 5 different Color variations – I can only assume (hope) they are 5 different colours. The base variations are cool looking cards, adding the colour to the opaque parts on the acetate makes this card look that much cooler.

One Response to 2000 Topps Tek Colour…errr…Color

  1. […] I have a mild obsession with 2000 Topps Tek.  You might have noticed.  Or here. The set’s only 9 years old, there’s still lots of time for me to pick away at the […]

Leave a Reply

