Hamilton bows out of WBC

Sports Illustrated is reporting that Hamilton has declined to participate in the upcoming World Baseball Classic.

I’m a little bit torn on this one.  Quite frankly – I’d love to see him in this tournament showcasing his skills – the article says that Team USA manager Davey Johnson intended to use Hamilton as his clean up hitter.  On the other hand, he has some pretty good reasons for opting out.  “If I had four or five years under my belt, I think I would do it.   I think I would be better served by going to Spring Training and by getting that work in, because I missed so much time.”

Johnson said he would speak to Hamilton again in March, closer to the start of the WBC, in the hopes of a change of heart.  Hamilton definitely isn’t shutting the door on future participation in the event, so maybe that bodes well for Team USA.  “I wanted to do it, especially with the chance to play with a guy like Derek Jeter.  I think the next time it comes around I’d love to play.”

Leave a Reply

