1 000 000 Feedback*

Yes, I decided to go with the dreaded asterisk in the title of this post.  CNN has a story about the first seller on eBay to surpass 1 000 000 feedback.  No, he doesn’t sell sports cards.  He sells electronics accessories.  Heck, he even offers free shipping within the US.  CNN fails to mention what should be the first thing people need to do when they check out a seller on eBay – look past the big number and the shiny star by the seller’s name and dig deeper.

He has almost 8000 negative or neutral feedbacks in the last 12 months.  That’s slightly over 2 % of his transactions.  A quick browse through the feedback that has been left for him reveals a lot of yellow stars (the lowest star you can get from eBay).  Obviously, eBay’s ‘Best Match’ search feature has been snaring these users and directing them to this guy.  I always search ‘Newly Listed’ myself, but some might say I spend way too much time analyzing eBay.  If you care to browse through page after page of feedback you can find people who didn’t get the item that was pictured (bad), or who got an item that shorted out the electronics device they were trying to accessorize (worse).  There’s a lot of weak positives in there as well.

Its great that people are using eBay this much, but the move towards huge volume sellers (who might very soon be the only ones willing to stick with eBay) isn’t always the best thing.   If I want to buy from a seller that treats me like Wal-Mart treats me – I can just go to Wal-Mart.  A million feedback is great, but a million feedback with a 98.9 % rating isn’t as good as it might seem.

4 Responses to 1 000 000 Feedback*

  1. Shredfest says:

    “A lot of yellow stars”? The yellow stars have nothing to do with eforcity’s rep. A yellow star next to the buyer’s name indicates that THEIR feedback score is only in the 10 to 49 range. How that negatively reflects on eforcity is beyond me. And a 98.9% positive feedback rating is pretty damn good. I’d love to see you handle this many transactions and get fewer negative and neutrals. You’re never going to please everyone all of the time, but this guy has done a phenomenal job, in my book!

  2. You missed my point. There are “a lot of yellow stars” in his feedback because the majority of people buying from him are relatively inexperienced eBay users. The type who might be more inclined to trust a very high number, without doing the digging into the quality behind the numbers.

    I couldn’t handle that high of an inventory – but I don’t attempt to either. The old ‘he sells do much he can’t be expected to get it all right’ excuse is bunk. If you can’t do it right – don’t do it.

    I have to be pretty compelled to buy from an eBay seller with less than 99.9% feedback. And I would never do so without checking into the comments and seeing how many negatives there are. 8000 unhappy customers is a lot. For my purposes, if the negatives come from a large number of unique buyers, its not worth my time and potential trouble. And considering that eBay only recently introduced its “sellers can’t leave negative feedback” policy, I’m inclined to think the numbers for this year might be low, due to fears of retaliation.

    To me, a 98.9% seller isn’t doing a phenomenal job, simply because there are 100% sellers out there with smaller quantity numbers who have realized their limitations, and provide excellent service to a smaller number of customers. I’d rather buy from someone like that. Electronics accessories aren’t so exclusive that I need to be limited to a quantity over quality seller.

  3. tribecards says:

    I agree. 8000 negatives is a TON! I don’t sell nearly as often as I once did because eBay fees suck the life out of me. They charge me to list, then charge me if I sell, then charge me if the buyer pays by credit card. If eBaying was my ‘real’ job, maybe. But it’s not, and it is pushing the little folks out. Something else better will come along – it’s a matter of when. I’m sure Google has some kind of auction house up its sleeve….

  4. Patricia says:

    We agree completely. On eBay these days it seems that wariness = wisdom. Maybe we are extreme because we never buy from a seller with less than 100 percent feedback. Also, they have to not have rip-off shipping charges, because when a seller overcharges for shipping, that usually proves to be a Bad Sign and will reflect some way in the transaction. If you choose 100 percent feedback PLUS low shipping charges, you almost can’t go wrong.

Leave a Reply

