Updates & Highlights: Home Run Derby

Theoretically, this should be right up there in my “Hamilton Card of the Year” Sweepstakes awards that only I care about.  However, it leaves me feeling a bit empty.  There were some amazing pictures taken during the Home Run Derby this year.  A lot of them were of Josh Hamilton.  Why, oh why did Topps use a faraway shot of Hamilton almost blending into the crowd and not showing his face?  Were there not photographers on the side of the field where he was looking?  With a little bit of inspired cropping (from the waist up), even this photo could have been used.  I realize Justin Morneau actually won the event, but I think 35 homers should get you a nice head shot as well.

Hamilton has 4 different base cards in Topps Update, and you can’t see his face clearly in any of them.  One of them is even a straight shot of his back.  In this vein, I went searching on the interweb, and decided to see if I could do better.  Here’s what I came up with.

Now, I freely admit I am biased, but to me – bigger, bolder pictures are always better.  Both these shots are still obviously from the Home Run Derby, but they make a much sharper looking card.  As a bonus, the card on the left is one of the best shots I have ever found of Hamilton using the same type of batting gloves I added to my collection earlier.

There’s my little flashback / attempt at improvement.  If you want to see some really sweet custom cards, check out Travis’s new blog over at PunkRockPaint.  He’s done two custom cards that I featured on my blog, and he’s got a bunch more great examples of his work at his blog.

save

5 Responses to Updates & Highlights: Home Run Derby

  1. PunkRockPaint says:

    Are you kidding me!!! Those are great!!!

    On a serious note…

    Dear Hamiltonian Blog:

    It has come to my attention that you have made an unauthorized use of my process of work entitled PunkRockification of cards (the “Work”) in the preparation of a work derived therefrom. I have reserved all rights in the Work, first published in July of 1978, [and have registered copyright therein]. Your work entitled Josh Hamilton- Home Run Derby is essentially identical to the Work and clearly used the Work as its basis.

    As you neither asked for nor received permission to use the Work as the basis for Josh Hamilton- Home Run Derby nor to make or distribute copies, including electronic copies, of same, I believe you have willfully infringed my rights under 17 U.S.C. Section 101 et seq. and could be liable for statutory damages as high as $150,000 (18 cents Canadian) as set forth in Section 504(c)(2) therein.

    I demand that you immediately cease the use and distribution of all infringing works derived from the Work, and all copies, including electronic copies, of same, that you deliver to me, if applicable, all unused, undistributed copies of same, or destroy such copies immediately and that you desist from this or any other infringement of my rights in the future. If I have not received an affirmative response from you by April 1, 2009 indicating that you have fully complied with these requirements, I shall take further action against you.

    Very truly yours,

    Travis Peterson
    PunkRockPaint, Inc

  2. PunkRockPaint says:

    Or not. 🙂

  3. I have $0.11 ready to go. I am going to scrape up another $0.07 to make this right. I know I don’t have to, but I am going to wait until I find 7 pennies in random locations, so that they are also ‘lucky’ in addition to their stated monetary value of $0.01.

    I think this is a satisfactory resolution to the situation.

  4. Travis says:

    Canadian pennies only! None of this worthless American coinage.

  5. Of course! Everyone loves the maple leaf….

Leave a Reply

