Reader Retro Contribution

A few days ago, I had a comment from a reader PunkRockPaint who had discovered my blog and ploughed through my musings (such dedication, I didn’t expect, I must admit).  He has a great collection of retro themed cards on his MySpace, and he offered to whip up a Hamilton version if he had time.

He found the time, and whipped me up a nice 1981 Topps Josh Hamilton.  He picked the design, because it was the year Hamilton was born – and also the year I was born, although I am pretty sure that’s just a coincidence.  Great looking card, I like the way his retro cards look ‘old’ whereas mine look all bright and shiny.    So, without further ado, here’s Hamilton’s 1981 Topps debut.

Thanks again, Travis – let me know when you get that blog started up so I can add a link to it.

10 Responses to Reader Retro Contribution

  1. night owl says:

    That’s pretty cool. I count at least three (there’s probably more) tell-tale signs that it’s not 1980-81 in the photo, which is something I like to do with the Topps Fan Favorites/Archives cards.

  2. Hmmm, new style batting helmet, and I believe he uses a maple bat, but I may be reaching on that one. Maybe the FSN ad on the fence as well.

  3. night owl says:

    Yeah, you got two I had — new batting helmet and FSN ad. You’re right, that’s probably a maple bat, too. I was looking at his uniform pants. No one wore the pants all the way down to the shoe tops back then. Of course you could point out the tatoos, too. That was non-existent 25 years ago.

  4. Laurens says:

    Creating card images using card designs from the same year as the players’ birthdate is a pretty good idea.

  5. tribecards says:

    That is wicked-awesome! Flaws or not, that is some serious artistry there. And, if memory serves, he does them using only Paint, right?

  6. I think of it as one of those bonus “What’s different about this picture?” games along with the cool card.

    I’m not sure how he does them. Pretty much all I can do in Paint is make overlapping layers of spray paint, so if its in paint, its impressive.

  7. Oh – and on the note about the pants – I really wish Hamilton would wear high socks. I think he’d look awesome rocking those on the ball diamond.

  8. PunkRockPaint says:

    Wow! Thanks for the kind words.

    If MS Paint came with my computer it is good enough for me.

    Tip- The best tool for the “retro” look is a good quality scan of the original cards. Since my set collections only go back to 1982, I turned to the good people at CheckOutMyCards.com. I steal (errr, borrow) images from them all the time. They do a great job scanning the cards. I haven’t used their site to buy or sell yet, but I like the concept.

    Using a Rusty Staub, an Al Oliver, and a lot of 8X zoom… Anyone can have a 1981 Topps card.

    As for the photo, it is too much work for something that will never look as good as I would want it to look. I may give it a try on an old Dodgers card for Night Owl. 🙂

    Thanks again,
    Travis

  9. night owl says:

    Cool! Travis. The Hamilton card rocks.

  10. […] Travis has struck again. Most of you probably recall his recent contribution to this blog, a Josh Hamilton 1981 Topps card. I got an email Friday with another retro card. He has really outdone himself with this one though. […]

Leave a Reply

