2008 Upper Deck Ballpark Collection Pack Break

I’m sure everyone is wondering about the Zambrano Rip card, but it was a lot less scanning to get all the scanning done for the pack of Ballpark Collection I picked up as well.

Base cards are really nice looking.  Only two per pack, so this would be a horrible set to try to build, and a pain in the butt for player collectors looking for a specific guy.  Chris Carpenter and Barry Zito here.  Couple of nice pitchers.

The omnipresent Yankee Stadium Legacy cards made an appearance as well.  I really don’t remember getting these out of the pack (I was more focused on the GU, but this was the only UD baseball product I opened, so they must have come from there.   Billy Martin and Phil Rizzuto here.

I was actually hoping for a 3 GU pack, as the autograph selection hasn’t been the greatest from what I’ve seen.  Of course, that meant I got an autograph.  I’ve never heard of this guy, but the card looks nice.

My dual GU was where the pack got worthwhile for me.  I’m not a Yankee fan, but Derek Jeter is a good pull anytime.  Orlando Cabrera is the other half of the card.  Boring swatches, but I am pretty happy with this one.

After the high of the dual jersey, I wasn’t necessarily optimistic about the quad jersey.  I ended up with a Brewers quad, featuring Robin Yount, Prince Fielder, JJ Hardy and Richie Weeks.  A little bit of mix of vintage and modern here – and I also ended up with 4 guys who are pictured in their current jerseys.  I believe UD had to picture guys in the jersey that matches up with the memorabilia piece, which is a good policy but it looks funny at times.  I ended up with a nice pinstripe on the Hardy piece as well.

So, getting down to the nitty gritty.  Value-wise – Ballpark Collection isn’t a great break.  Its about average – I might get back half of what I paid for the box.  I’d probably do OK trade wise though.  Lots of Yankee fans out there, and the Brewers seem to have a good following as well.  Ballpark was a fun break, and it is nice to get a high-endish product that still has a reasonable price point (and is sold by the pack).  The guaranteed hits in the product are sweet, but having them in large quantities definitelty dilutes the value.

I wouldn’t buy this again, but I am glad I gave it a shot.

4 Responses to 2008 Upper Deck Ballpark Collection Pack Break

  1. You’d think that after a full season on the White Sox, Upper Deck would be able to find a photo of Orlando Cabrera in a White Sox uniform.

  2. Patricia says:

    Nicely done pack break! Very enjoyable. (Let us know if you might be willing to trade for the Barry Z. card.) PS We agree with White Sox Cards about Zambrano.

  3. Patricia says:

    I mean Cabrera of course. 😦 I really need a nap.

  4. I think UD has to use pictures of the guys wearing the jersey that the memorabilia is from. Hamilton is pictured in a Reds uni in Ballpark Collection, but UD has used a bunch of different Rangers pics in other products.

    I will let you know about the Zito once the dust settles and I get finished sorting everything.

Leave a Reply

