Beyond Belief: Finding the Strength to Come Back

The Josh Hamilton Story to date has all the makings of an excellent drama. A young man experiences the highest of highs – #1 overall pick in the 1999 MLB Draft. Through life’s various twists and turns, he also experiences the lowest of the lows – drug and alcohol addiction, squandered talent, and seeing what his choices did to his family and loved ones. Its got movie potential. And it is already a book. Hamilton has teamed up with ESPN’s Tim Keown to authour Beyond Belief: Finding the Strength to Come Back.

Hamilton describes the book thusly: “Baseball is in it, just because I’ve played it my whole life. It’s more about leading up to the struggles I went through, getting through that and putting God first in my life.” The book was largely written during the off season before his breakout 2008 season, but a chapter about the Home Run Derby was added as well.

After his busy baseball season, Hamilton is going to be hitting the road with a book tour and book signing starting in October. The last entry on that site doesn’t list the full location, but this blog says the October 22 signing starts at 7 PM at Barnes & Noble in The Parks Mall in Arlington.

Is anyone going to be picking this book up and / or hitting a book signing? I’d be interested to hear a report or seeing some pictures if you are. I’ll definitely be picking up a copy of the book, probably off Amazon, as I don’t think he’ll be coming up to Canada for a signing.

4 Responses to Beyond Belief: Finding the Strength to Come Back

  1. night owl says:

    I always thought his story would make an excellent movie. Has there been talk about that? If so, I hope it’s not something that appears on ESPN or on TV elsewhere. I think it deserves the major motion picture treatment. Lots of people would go see that.

  2. I haven’t heard anything about a movie, but I don’t think it would be an immediate thing either. I also would prefer not to see it done as a made for TV movie – I think they’d have to gloss over a lot of the lows in order to meet network standards. I think HBO might be able to do it justice though.

  3. yankee says:

    Why did you pick two of the worst fleer designs for your banner.

  4. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, I suppose. They were actually the first baseball cards I remember opening packs of in any quantity. 1989 Fleer was the absolute first, and 1991 Fleer was the first baseball set I worked on.

Leave a Reply

