These cards just scream ‘spring baseball’

Upper Deck might not have all the fancy refractor technology that Topps has.  No Chrome to be found in their products either.

With that being said – do they ever know how to pick a photograph for a card.  Hamilton had two cards in the recent Upper Deck Series 2 release.  A base card, and a checklist card.  Both of them feature amazing pictures.  There’s the big follow through on his base card, and then a great shot of him running in from the field on his checklist card.  Both look like spring training shots, and the checklist card especially just reminds me of that big grin everyone seems to get the first few times they take the field for a new season.

Upper Deck has a lot of faults, but base Series 1 and 2 in any sport always look amazing, even if they lack the bells and whistles that are found in a lot of other products.  Its not necessary to give me three patches and two autographs on a card.  Just show me a picture of guy who looks like he is having a great time on the diamond.

4 Responses to These cards just scream ‘spring baseball’

  1. Spiff says:

    Nice looking cards. I gotta get some of those. Did you see Hamilton’s throw last night against the Braves?

  2. ejahnke says:

    Mr. Hamiltonian, can I assume you like the new Beckett baseball cover?

  3. Dave says:

    I’d be very interested in getting your thoughts on my post on Josh Hamilton that I published on my blog tonight. I linked back to your blog, which I have found to be very enjoyable 🙂

  4. Spiff says:

    Finally got these cards in today. Great photos! I am liking the Upper Deck set this year.

Leave a Reply

