Masterpieces Indeed…

I love framed cards. Something about them just appeals to me. It makes the card something more than a card – because you wouldn’t just frame any old card, would you? That brings me to today’s scans. A couple of parallels from 2007 Upper Deck Masterpieces Baseball. This is a really cool looking set – very artsy, if you are into that sort of thing. I’m not as a rule, but I do like it when something different is done with cards.

My only complaint with Masterpieces? They gave the parallels stupid names. Pictured below are ‘Green Linen’ and ‘Hades.’ Personally, I was excited when I heard about a ‘Hades’ parallel. And then disappointed when I actually saw it. I was thinking flames, or at a minimum – a black and red design. Not plain black. And ‘Green Linen’ – I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t have suffered any from being called ‘Green’ or maybe ‘Emerald.’ I don’t see the need for the fabric comparison in there.

Regardless, feast your eyes on these guys for a while. This is one of my favorite photos that was used on a Hamilton card last year (not that it was tough to beat the ‘standing in front of the school picture wall’ shot that Topps used repeatedly.)

Leave a Reply

